Central Africa Province Profile

Countries: Botswana, Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Province Profile

Archbishop: The Most Revd Albert Chama
Provincial Secretary: The Rt. Revd. William Muchombo

The Province includes Botswana, Malawi, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. The first Anglican missionary to Malawi was Bishop Charles Mackenzie, who arrived with David Livingstone in 1861. TheProvince was inaugurated in 1955 and has a movable bishopric. The countries forming the Province are very different. Zambia and Botswana suffer the difficulties of rapid industrialization, along with underdeveloped, thinly populated areas. In Malawi, 30 per cent of the adult males are away as migrant laborers in other countries at any given time. Zimbabwe is experiencing problems of social adjustment after independence.

The Church of the Province of Central Africa is part of the Anglican Communion, and includes 15dioceses in Botswana, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The Primate of the Church is the Archbishop of Central Africa; the Most Rev Albert Chama.

P.O. Box 510154
Tel & Fax: +2606221294
Email: dioeastzm@zamnet.zm