Southern Africa Province Profile

Countries: Angola, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland

Primate: The Most Revd. Thabo Cecil Makgoba
Provincial Secretary: Revd Canon William J. Mostert
Provincial Treasurer: Mr. Rob S. Rogerson

The Province is the oldest in Africa.

Anglican Church of Southern Africa- situated on the southern tip of Africa. This Province was formerly known as the Church of the Province of Southern Africa (CPSA). The Second Reading of the resolution to change the name of the Church was heard and approved at the Provincial Synod held on 8th and 9th September 2006.

The Anglican Church in this Province was established in 1870 when its first Provincial Synod was held in Cape Town. It has grown over the years and now has 25 dioceses, found in the countries of Angola, Lesotho, Swaziland, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and the island of St Helena (South Atlantic Island). It has a diverse membership of approximately 3 – 4 million people, speaking many languages and representing many cultures and races. In 1989 the Church produced its new An Anglican Prayer Book, 1989 which was simultaneously published in 6 languages. Today it is available in 9 of the languages spoken in these regions.

The Archbishop is the Most Reverend Thabo Cecil Makgoba, who is also Bishop of Cape Town. There are currently 29 bishops, approx. 2000 clergy who minister in about 1000 parishes.

There are many challenges and opportunities for ministry in this Province. For example, the new democracy in South Africa after many years of oppression under the policy of apartheid, in the rebuilding of Angola and Mocambique after many years of civil war, the pandemic of HIV & AIDS affecting many of its members, poverty eradication, environmental issues, etc.

Postal address
20 Bishopscourt Drive
Bishopscourt Claremont
Cape, 7700